Cultural Council


The Scituate Cultural Council is a town committee that makes annual grants to support local arts and culture programs that benefit Scituate residents. 

The mission of the Cultural Council is to promote excellence, access, education, and diversity in the arts, humanities, and interpretive sciences in order to improve the quality of life for all residents and to contribute to the economic vitality of our community.

The Scituate Cultural Council is part of a network of 329 cultural councils serving all 351 cities and towns in the Commonwealth. This is the largest grassroots cultural funding network in the nation, supporting thousands of community-based projects in the arts, sciences, and humanities every year. The state legislature provides an annual appropriation to the Massachusetts Cultural Council, a state agency, which then allocates funds to each community. Decisions about which local activities to support are made entirely at the community level by Scituate residents who volunteer as members of the Cultural Council.

Board Members

Name Title
Sarah Smith Chairperson
Lisa Grize Member
Patrice Maye
Kristen Sauter Member
Kristen Sherman Secretary
Betty Tufankjian Member