Scituate Recreation Department

  • Boot Camp
  • Mens over 35 Basketball
  • Mens over 35 Basketball

Summer Employment Opportunities

We will be accepting summer employment applications from Thursday January 5, 2017 through Thursday, March 9, 2017 for Counselors, Directors, Instructors, Lifeguards and Volunteers. Applications are available on this web page and in the Recreation Office located at Jenkins Elementary School.  Submit your your application by email at or to the Recreation Office directly.

Mission Statement

The Mission of the Scituate Recreation Department is to provide exceptional and creative programs, services and facilities (such as beaches, ball fields and playgrounds) that foster community spirit and involvement while enhancing the quality of life for all people in Scituate.

Along with planning, organizing and executing the special events listed below we also run approximately 300 plus classes a year. A full listing of our offerings can be found in our quarterly brochures (in the upper right side of page).

The Recreation Department offers the following variety of special events:

  • Annual Easter Egg Hunt in April
  • Mr. C's 5 And 6 Year Old Soccer Program, May-June
  • Scituate Harbor Unplugged an evening of original and contemporary music in July
  • P.J. Steverman Golf Classic in September
  • Calls From The North Pole in December

The Recreation Department is responsible for Lifeguard Service for the five beaches in the Town of Scituate:

  • Minot Beach
  • Peggotty Beach
  • Egypt Beach
  • Sandhills Beach
  • Humarock Beach

And Field Permitting for: (link here)

  • The Sixteen Athletic Fields
  • Tennis Courts
  • PJ Steverman InLine Skating Rink
  • Morrill Memorial Bandstand on Cole Parkway
  • Basketball Courts at Kazlousky Park

To find out more information on how to reserve a facility or to book a facility please contact Anne Vegnani, field coordinator.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Maura Glancy Recreation Director
Nick Lombardo Assistant Director
Anne Vegnani Field Coordinator
Allison Richman Registrar
Eric Donovan Office Staff
Caitlin Fitzmaurice Office Staff

Commission Members

Name Title
David Smith Chairman
Jennifer McMellen Vice Chairman
Jacqueline Carr Comerford Secretary
Al Kazlousky
Dan Fennelly