

TOWN OF SCITUATE ANNUAL & SPECIAL TOWN MEETING APRIL 9, 2018 MINUTES

The Annual & Special Town Meeting was convened at the Scituate High School at the Center for Performing Arts, 606 Chief Justice Cushing Way, on Monday, April 9, 2018 with Moderator Richard P. Bowen presiding.

A quorum of "0" registered voters was declared present and the moderator called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.

Attendance the first night was 824.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was led by the Moderator, Richard Bowen.

Moderator Bowen asked for a moment of silence in remembrance of the men and women in the armed forces who have lost their lives serving our country.

Peter Toppan was appointed Assistant Moderator by the Moderator.

The music room #177 was utilized for extra space with room for 100 voters and 2 tellers. Deputy Moderator Peter Toppan presiding. 37 registered voters and 18 non-voters were present.

Kathleen A. Curran, Town Clerk, swore in the Deputy Moderator and the following tellers:

Susan Frankel Irene Murray

Jack Manning Christopher Mirarchi

Penny Scott-Pipes Alison Short
Peter Toppan Rich Harding

Thomas Gavin

The Town Clerk swore in the following checkers:

Caren D Bonney Elizabeth Gerry
Ellen Kelly Lynda Plowman
Barbara Brosnan Don Smart

Eleanor Waterman
Ann White
Nicholas Waterman
Deborah Young

VOTED to dispense with the reading of the Call of the Meeting and Return of Service having been examined by the Moderator and found to be in order and to also waive the reading of the separate warrant articles.

UNANIMOUS VOTE

VOTED pursuant to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 39, 59 (Town of Scituate By-law 20150) that the Moderator be authorized for the duration of this Annual and Special Town Meeting to take all votes requiring a two-thirds majority in the same manner in which he conducts the taking of a vote when a majority vote is required.

UNANIMOUS VOTE

RECOGNIZED DIGNITARIES:

The Moderator asked the following Chairmen to introduce their board/committee members.

Maura Curran, Chairman of the Board of Selectmen introduced the members of the board, Karen Canfield, John Danehey, Shawn Harris, Anthony Vegnani, and herself.

Lincoln Heineman, Chairman of the Advisory Committee, introduced the members of the Advisory Committee, Anthony Antoniello, Geoffrey Burns, Sean Delacy, Jamie Gilmore, Patrice Metro, Gerard Kelly, Mark Sandham, and Michael Westort.

Michael Long, School Committee Chair, introduced the members of the School Committee, Richard Hebert, Brenda Bowen, Michael Hayes, and Janice Lindblom.

Chris Carchia, Capital Planning Committee, Chairman

<u>ANNOUNCEMENTS:</u> Mr. Moderator recognizes Emily Mathews, Technical Director of the Center for Performing Arts and Seth Pfeiffer, Scituate Cable.

IN MEMORIUM

Dianne L. Saferian, December 3, 2017-Scituate Schools Transportation
Doris Magill, December 9, 2017-Scituate Schools
William G. Smith III, December 15, 2017-Scituate Schools
Charlotte Gillis, December 26, 2017-Former Secretary for Board of Selectmen 20 years
Jule Ann Kreutler, December 31, 2017- Scituate Schools
Janet M. Simon, January 31, 2018-Scituate Schools
Arthur Fletcher, March 22, 2018-Scituate Fire Dept.

*****UPCOMING EVENTS****

Ship Shape Day on April 28, 2018

The Moderator explained the rules of the meeting.

Motion made to adjourn the Annual Town Meeting until after the Special Town Meeting. Motioned was seconded.

The Annual Town Meeting adjourned at 7:03 P.M.

The Special Town Meeting was commenced at 7:03 P.M.

The Special Town Meeting was dissolved at 7:46 P.M.

The Annual Town Meeting reconvened at 7:46 P.M.

STATE OF THE UNION-Maura Curran, Chairman Board of Selectmen

REPORTS

Maura C. Curran, Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Lincoln Heineman, Chairman of the Advisory Committee Chris Carchia of the Capital Planning Committee

N	ሰ	te	26					

Motion made by Maura Curran, BOS Chair, and motion was seconded for Consent Agenda for Articles 1, 2, 10, 11, 13, and 14. This motion passed by a 2/3 vote.

Article 3-Capital Planning was considered and voted next (see certified votes).

At 10:15PM after Article 3 M., voters exited the auditorium (CFPA) and the people in the music room attended the remainder of the meeting in the Center for Performing Arts auditorium.

Article 12-Community Preservation was advanced by a motion and seconded and passed by a majority vote (see certified votes).

Article 21-S.S. Reg. Vocational Technical Regional Amended Agreement was advanced by a motion and seconded and passed by a 2/3 vote (see certified votes).

At 10:47 PM a motion was made by Ann Burbine to adjourn and to continue the Town Meeting to April 10, 2018 at 7 PM and seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

The Annual Town Meeting reconvened on April 10, 2018 at 7 PM. Attendance was 285.

Article 4-Budget Motion

State of Schools-Ron Griffin, Superintendent of Schools

Vote of Article 4-Budget

Guest Speaker – Former State Representative Jim Cantwell Farewell Address

Remaining articles were presented.

See certified copy of the warrant articles, motions and votes.

The Annual Town Meeting was dissolved at 11 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathleen A. Curran Town Clerk