

TOWN OF SCITUATE SPECIAL TOWN MEETING NOVEMBER 14, 2017 MINUTES

The Special Town Meeting was convened at the Center for Performing Arts, 606 Chief Justice Cushing Way, on Wednesday, November 14, 2017 with Moderator Richard P. Bowen presiding.

A quorum of "0" registered voters was declared present and the moderator called the meeting to order at 7 P.M.

Attendance was 178.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was led by the Moderator, Richard Bowen.

Peter Toppan was appointed Assistant Moderator by the Moderator.

Kathleen A. Curran, Town Clerk, swore in the Deputy Moderator and the following tellers:

Susan Frankel Jack Manning
Christopher Mirarchi Irene Murray
Penny Scott-Pipes Peter Toppan

Alison Short

The Town Clerk swore in the following checkers:

Patricia Delappe Thomas Gavin
Elizabeth Gerry Richard Harding
Ellen Kelly Jack Manning
Joanne McIntosh Marilyn Ojala
Lynda Plowman Donald Smart

VOTED to dispense with the reading of the Call of the Meeting and Return of Service having been examined by the Moderator and found to be in order and to also waive the reading of the separate warrant articles.

VOTE-Unanimous

VOTED pursuant to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 39, 59 (Town of Scituate By-law 20150) that the Moderator be authorized for the duration of this Special Town Meeting to take all votes requiring a two-thirds majority in the same manner in which he conducts the taking of a vote when a majority vote is required.

The Moderator asked the following Chairmen to introduce their board/committee members.

Maura C. Curran, Chairman of the Board of Selectmen introduced the members of the board, Karen Canfield, John Danehey, Shawn Harris, Anthony Vegnani, Acting Town Administrator, Al Bangert and herself. Ms. Curran also introduced the new Town Administrator, Jim Boudreau.

Lincoln Heineman, Chairman of the Advisory Committee, introduced the members of the Advisory Committee, Anthony Antoniello, Geoffrey Burns (not in attendance), Sean Delacy, Jamie Gilmore, Patrice Metro, Gerard Kelly, Mark Sandham, and Michael Westort (not in attendance).

Michael Long, School Committee Chair, introduced the members of the School Committee, Peter Gates, Michael Hayes, Richard Hebert, Janice Lindblom, and himself.

IN MEMORIAM

Lawrence Jenkins May 1, 2017-DPW

Robert Tarantino June 23, 2017-Veteran's Advisory Council, Commission on Disability

Ralph L. Roberts June 25, 2017-Scituate Schools-Bus Driver

Frank Lynch July 12, 2017-Zoning Board of Appeals, Board of Health

Paul G. Crowley July 26, 2017-Town Archives Dedicated Volunteer

Robert C. McHugh, Sr. July 26, 2017-Veteran's Advisory Council

John (Bub) Brown August 16, 2017- Scituate Water commission 1953-1964, Scituate Highway Supervisor 1970-1986

Thomas Gotter-10-3-2017 Retired from Scituate Fire Department

There was a moment of silence for those who have passed.

The Moderator explained the rules of the meeting.

The articles motions were discussed and voted.

The Special Town Meeting was dissolved at 9:00P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathleen A. Curran Town Clerk