

TOWN OF SCITUATE ANNUAL & SPECIAL TOWN MEETING APRIL 13, 2015 MINUTES

The Annual & Special Town Meeting was convened at the Scituate High School Gymnasium, 606 Chief Justice Cushing Way, on Monday, April 13, 2015 with Moderator Richard P. Bowen presiding.

A quorum of "0" registered voters was declared present and the moderator called the meeting to order at 7:05 P.M.

Attendance was 542.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was led by the Moderator, Richard Bowen.

Moderator Bowen asked for a moment of silence in remembrance of the men and women in the armed forces who have lost their lives serving our country.

Peter Toppan was appointed Deputy Moderator by the Moderator.

Kathleen A. Curran, Town Clerk, swore in the Deputy Moderator and the following tellers:

Christopher Mirarchi
Jack Manning
Peter Toppan
Penny Scott-Pipes
Richard Travers

Christina Danielson
Marla Minier
Lynda Plowman
Susan Frankel
Ann White

The Town Clerk swore in the following checkers:

Carmen (Dee) Bonney

Don Smart

John (Jack) Manning

Marilyn Ojala

Eleanor Waterman

Christina Danielson

Ellen Kelly

Lynda Plowman

Ann White

Nicholas Waterman

VOTED to dispense with the reading of the Call of the Meeting and Return of Service having been examined by the Moderator and found to be in order and to also waive the reading of the separate warrant articles.

UNANIMOUS VOTE

VOTED pursuant to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 39, 59 (Town of Scituate By-law 20150) that the Moderator be authorized for the duration of this Annual and Special Town Meeting to take all votes requiring a two-thirds majority in the same manner in which he conducts the taking of a vote when a majority vote is required.

UNANIMOUS VOTE

RECOGNIZED DIGNITARIES

State Representative, James Cantwell

The Moderator asked the following Chairmen to introduce their board/committee members.

John Danehey, Chairman of the Board of Selectmen introduced the members of the board, Maura C. Curran, Anthony Vegnani, Shawn Harris, Martin O'Toole, and himself.

Frank Judge, Chairman of the Advisory Committee, introduced the members of the Advisory Committee, Anthony Antoniello, Geoffrey Burns, James Gilmore, Mark Sandham, Robert Nelson, and Michael Westort.

Michael Long, School Committee Chair, introduced the members of the School Committee, Richard Hebert, and Brenda Bowen, Robin Levirne, and Janet Taylor.

David Capelle, Chairman of the Capital Planning Committee introduced members Frank Nash, Tony Meschini, John (Jack) Whittaker, and Chris Carchia.

IN MEMORIUM

Josephine (Joey) Von Iderstein-11-25-2014-Librarian (Children's) Elizabeth Miessner-12-11-2014-Historical Commission and Election Worker Frances Bonano-2-16-2015-Scituate Schools Secretary

The Moderator explained the rules of the meeting.

ANNOUNCEMENT

Jessi Finnie, Library Director announced that the Scituate Public Library will be closing June 5, 2015 and will move to the Scituate Harbor Community Building located at 44 Jericho Road and will re-open on June 15, 2015. More information can be found on the website.

Motion made to adjourn the Annual Town Meeting until after the Special Town Meeting. Motioned was seconded.

The Annual Town Meeting adjourned for recess at 7:20 A.M.

The Special Town Meeting was commenced at 7:20 P.M.

The Special Town Meeting was dissolved at 7:47 P.M.

The Annual Town Meeting commenced at 7:47 P.M.

STATE OF THE UNION

John Danehey, Chairman of the Board of Selectmen recognizes George Sullivan for his hard work and long hours setting up and breaking down the town meetings.

REPORTS

John Danehey, Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Frank Judge, Chairman of the Advisory Committee John McCarthy, Superintendent of Schools

ARTICLES WERE PRESENTED, DISCUSSED AND VOTED.

At 10:50 P.M. A new motion was made to continue the meeting beyond 11:00 P.M. to completion. Motion was seconded. Majority voted in favor to continue the meeting.

RESOLUTION

Be it resolved that the will and intent of the voters of this meeting is for the funds in Article 18 to be used for repairs, or maintenance, or reconstruction of existing public seawalls and that these funds are not be used to pay for any loans relating to previous seawall work.

The Annual Town Meeting was dissolved at 1:40 A.M. on April 14, 2015.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathleen A. Curran Town Clerk