

# TOWN OF SCITUATE ANNUAL & SPECIAL TOWN MEETING APRIL 26, 2017 MINUTES

The Annual & Special Town Meeting was convened at the Scituate High School Gymnasium, 606 Chief Justice Cushing Way, on Wednesday, April 26, 2017 with Moderator Richard P. Bowen presiding.

A quorum of "0" registered voters was declared present and the moderator called the meeting to order at 7 P.M.

Prayer offered by Rev. Estelle Margarones of the 1<sup>st</sup> Trinitarian Congregational Church.

Attendance the first night was 350. On the 2<sup>nd</sup> night, April 27, 2017, attendance was 120.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was led by the Moderator, Richard Bowen.

Moderator Bowen asked for a moment of silence in remembrance of the men and women in the armed forces who have lost their lives serving our country.

Peter Toppan was appointed Assistant Moderator by the Moderator.

Kathleen A. Curran, Town Clerk, swore in the Deputy Moderator and the following tellers:

Susan Frankel Ellen Kelly

Jack ManningChristopher MirarchiLynda PlowmanPenny Scott-PipesMarla MinierPeter ToppanRichard HardingAnn White

Frank Snow (2<sup>nd</sup> night) Heather Nugent (2<sup>nd</sup> night)

# The Town Clerk swore in the following checkers:

Joanne McIntosh

Ellen Kelly

Ann White

Marilyn Ojala

Nicholas Waterman

Emily Robinson2<sup>nd</sup> night

Richard Harding

John (Jack) Manning

Lynda Plowman

Heather Nugent

Eleanor Waterman

VOTED to dispense with the reading of the Call of the Meeting and Return of Service having been examined by the Moderator and found to be in order and to also waive the reading of the separate warrant articles.

UNANIMOUS VOTE

VOTED pursuant to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 39, 59 (Town of Scituate By-law 20150) that the Moderator be authorized for the duration of this Annual and Special Town Meeting to take all votes requiring a two-thirds majority in the same manner in which he conducts the taking of a vote when a majority vote is required.

# **UNANIMOUS VOTE**

**RECOGNIZED DIGNITARIES: Jim Cantwell, State Representative** 

The Moderator asked the following Chairmen to introduce their board/committee members.

Martin O'Toole, Chairman of the Board of Selectmen introduced the members of the board, Maura C. Curran, John Danehey, Shawn Harris, Anthony Vegnani, and himself.

Jamie Gilmore, Chairman of the Advisory Committee, introduced the members of the Advisory Committee, Anthony Antoniello, Geoffrey Burns, Sean Delacy, Lincoln Heineman, Patrice Metro, Gerard Kelly, Mark Sandham, and Michael Westort.

Janet Taylor, School Committee Chair, introduced the members of the School Committee, Richard Hebert, Brenda Bowen, Michael Hayes, and Michael Long

# **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

We would like to recognize School Superintendent John McCarthy who will retire on June 30 after five years of service and Laura Harbottle, Town Planner who will retire after 20 years of service. This will be their last town meeting.

#### **IN MEMORIUM**

Gilman Bates Wilder-Board of Selectmen, Advisory Committee, Charter Commission, Planning Board, Board of Health and various other committees.

John (Jack) W Lyons, Jr.-Town Archives Volunteer

Patricia Jones- Town Archives Volunteer and Preservation of Scituate's Heritage (POSH)

**Edward McLaughlin-Zoning Board of Appeals** 

# \*\*\*\*\*UPCOMING EVENTS\*\*\*\*

The Scituate Library Foundation will host a fundraising Gala at the new building on June 10th. This event will provide guests with a sneak peek at the library, an opportunity to bid on auction items, and help raise funds to reduce the town's contribution to the building project. Info and tickets are available on their website, scituatelibraryfoundation.org.

Ship Shape Day on April 29, 2017. Celebrating 50 years.

The Moderator explained the rules of the meeting.

Motion made to adjourn the Annual Town Meeting until after the Special Town Meeting. Motioned was seconded.

The Annual Town Meeting adjourned for recess at 7:30 P.M.

The Special Town Meeting was commenced at 7:30 P.M.

The Special Town Meeting was dissolved at 7:47 P.M.

The Annual Town Meeting commenced at 7:47 P.M.

#### STATE OF THE UNION

#### REPORTS

Martin O'Toole, Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Jamie Gilmore, Chairman of the Advisory Committee John (Jack)Whittaker of the Capital Planning Committee

ARTICLES 1 thru 3 WERE PRESENTED, DISCUSSED AND VOTED. See certified copy of the warrant articles, motions and votes.

After the vote of Article 3, a motion was made by James Hunt to "Advance Consideration" of Article 15-Adminstrative Code Change: Department of Planning and Development and Director of Planning and Development, to be heard prior to Article 4 Fiscal Year 2018 Operating Budget. Motion was seconded and was passed by a unanimous vote.

ARTICLES 15, and 4 thru 10 were presented discussed and voted. See certified copy of the warrant articles, motions and votes.

The Annual Town Meeting was adjourned at 10:56 PM on April 26, 2017 with a motion made and seconded to continue the Annual Town Meeting until Thursday, April 27, 2017 at 7 PM at the SHS gymnasium. Voted unanimously in favor of this motion.

The Annual Town Meeting, second night, April 27, 2017 reconvened at 7 PM.

Articles 11, 12, 13, 14 and 16 were presented, discussed and voted. See certified copy of the warrant articles, motions and votes.

The Annual Town Meeting was dissolved at 9:45 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathleen A. Curran Town Clerk